Our Breastfeeding Journey

Hi Girls! 

So since Aug. 1-7th (aka today), it’s been #WorldBreastfeedingWeek! August is also Breastfeeding Awareness Month. I honestly had no idea that it was a thing!!! But I’m so happy that it is. πŸ™‚ 

When I first started to breastfeed, I was so intimated and scared! I knew I wanted to do it because my mom did it with me but what I really wanted from this experience was the bond my daughter and I would create because of it. To all the new mamas out there, breastfeeding was a HUGE CHALLENGE. It has its downs (I’m not gonna lie) but it has more UP’s and that’s what keeps me going. 

My milk supply did not come in 100%. That is a big factor as to why I’ve had trouble with breastfeeding. We’ve had to supplement with formula since birth. For any FTM that is skeptical about supplementing, please don’t be scared and do it! Feeding your baby is what matters the most. Whether it’s breast milk or formula, feeding is so important. 

Ella has been on Similac Pro, Similac Sensitive, and finally (still using) Similac Total Comfort. Our routine is basically offer the breast first and then top it off with formula. 

Tip: See a Lactation consultant ASAP! 

In the very first month of postpartum, I knew I needed additional help from experts when it came to breastfeeding and milk supply. Before contacting them, I tried Lactation cookies, ate oatmeal every morning, chugged so much water, and breastfed on demand like crazy. It is physically and emotionally draining when you’re trying to boost your milk supply! Omg I don’t miss those days. My milk is still not 100% in and it’s ok. I’ve learned to accept my body for what it can produce right now and still give Ella what I have. I basically produce up to 3 oz each feeding which is every 2-3 hours. 

*One of the factors that affected my milk supply was that Ella & I didn’t have immediate contact right after her birth so that I could  b-feed her.

As your due date approaches, make sure to establish a labor & delivery plan with your partner and/or your doctor. Also, don’t forget to mention to your nurses or doc that you would like your baby right away so you can bfeed if that’s the plan for you. When you have a complicated labor like me, (c-section, fever, blood transfusion, GBS,) you’re going to be happy you told someone what you wanted beforehand. 

I recommend to all breastfeeding moms who are going back to work right away to use the Medela Pump In Style pump or the Medela Symphony. Also, load up on nipple cream! As funny as it sounds, you’re going to need it. 

Thanks for reading my post and if you have questions let me know! 

XO

-Flor 


Leave a Reply

